Blind River Beavers Cochrane Crunch Elliot Lake Red Wings Espanola Paper Kings French River Rapids Greater Sudbury Cubs Hearst Lumberjacks Kirkland Lake Gold Miners Powassan Voodoos Soo Eagles Soo Thunderbirds Timmins Rock | Hockey Canada Canadian Junior Hockey League Northern Ontario Hockey Association


Cochrane’s Gratton joins exclusive NOJHL scoring group



Release Date: Friday, Feb. 6, 2015

Cochrane’s Gratton joins exclusive NOJHL scoring group

SUDBURY – By recording his 50th goal of the season Friday evening in a 5-4 victory over the Mattawa Blackhawks, Cochrane Crunch forward Cody Gratton joined an impressive list of players that have hit the half century mark in a single campaign in the lengthy history of the Northern Ontario Junior Hockey League.

With his effort, which also turned out to be his NOJHL-leading 10th game-winner of the season, the 20-year-old Sudbury product becomes the 40th player in recorded league history to reach the half century mark in tallies in a single campaign.

The achievement also extends a Cochrane team record for most goals in a season as he is having an impressive season for the first-year Crunch.

As well as leading all NOJHL skaters in tallies and game-winners, Gratton also top all players in points with 85 and shorthanded efforts with 11.

His tally total puts him into a tie for 36th all-time in league history for goals in a season, with the Crunch still having nine games remaining on their schedule before the playoffs.

The last time a NOJHL player reached the 50-goal mark was back during the 2011-12 campaign when then Sudbury Cubs standout Jordan Carroll amassed an amazing 70 tallies.

Prior to that the last half-century man in the NOJHL was Jeff Rainville of the Soo Thunderbirds who struck 56 times in 2002-03.

The NOJHL record for most goals in a single season is an incredible 95 piled up by Denis Castonguay, who set the mark back in 1983-84 with the Rayside Balfour Canadians in just 40 games played.

Gratton and the rest of his Cochrane teammates return to the ice Saturday as they host Sault Ste. Marie in a 7:30 p.m. start at the Tim Horton Event Centre.

The following is the list of all-time 50-goal scorers in the NOJHL:

NOJHL leaders: Goals in a single season (50 or more)      
1 Denis Castonguay Rayside Balfour Canadians 1983-84 40 95
2 Mike Dore Rayside Balfour Canadians 1991-92 44 77
3 Doug McEwen Elliot Lake Vikings 1983-84 35 75
4 Denis Castonguay Rayside Balfour Canadians 1982-83 42 73
5 Shawn Dubois Elliot Lake Vikings 1988-89 37 72
6 Jordan Carroll Sudbury Cubs 2011-12 50 70
7 Jon Stos Rayside Balfour Canadians 1991-92 42 67
T-8 Alain Cormier Rayside Balfour Canadians 1983-84 40 66
T-8 Steve Sullivan Timmins Golden Bears 1991-92 47 66
T-10 Bob Tombari Soo Greyhounds 1966-67 39 65
T-10 Al  Blanchard Sudbury Cubs 1970-71 41 65
T-10 Ed Bumbacco Soo Greyhounds 1969-70 44 65
T-13 Dave Creasy Onaping Falls Huskies 1979-80 35 63
T-13 Randy Prior North Bay Trappers 1964-65 39 63
T-15 Matt Shank Sudbury Jr. Wolves 2001-02 42 62
T-15 Alain Cormier Rayside Balfour Canadians 1985-86 39 62
T-15 Kevin  Lee Onaping Falls Huskies 1985-86 39 62
T-15 Todd Vaillancourt Rayside Balfour Canadians 1987-88 40 62
19 Gord Geisler Powassan Hawks 1992-93 41 61
T-20 Tim Boyer Nickel Centre Native Sons 1978-79 40 59
T-20 Pierre Dupuis Nickel Centre Native Sons 1982-83 41 59
T-20 Marc Lafreniere Rayside Balfour Canadians 1991-92 43 59
T-20 Derek McNair Timmins Golden Bears 1992-93 47 59
T-20 Jim Ratte Timmins Golden Bears 1992-93 44 59
25 Brian Verrault Rayside Balfour Canadians 1983-84 39 58
26 Peter Kiernan Onaping Falls Huskies 1980-81 40 57
27 Jeff Rainville Soo Thunderbirds 2002-03 43 56
T-28 Dan Despatie Nickel Centre Cubs 1992-93 48 55
T-28 Bruno Vallieres Rouyn Noranda Capitales 1992-93 45 55
30 Ray Delorenzi Soo Greyhounds 1970-71 47 54
31 Andrew Bain Timmins Golden Bears 1994-95 47 53
T-32 Luc Drouin Rayside Balfour Canadians 1984-85 40 52
T-32 Bob Shaughnessy Espanola Eagles 1969-70 41 52
T-34 Marty Reynolds North Bay Trappers 1965-66 36 51
T-34 Dean  Cull Rayside Balfour Canadians 1991-92 47 51
T-36 Bob Leduc Sudbury Cubs 1963-64 39 50
T-36 Lyle Wildgoose Nickel Centre Power Trains 1986-87 38 50
T-36 Vince  Edwards Espanola Eagles 1985-86 40 50
T-36 Mike Vaillancourt Rayside Balfour Sabrecats 2001-02 40 50
T-36 Cody Gratton* Cochrane Crunch 2014-15 41 50
*-Current season          
With files from NOJHL Historian/Statistician David Harrison      
WordPress Image Lightbox Plugin