Thunderbirds’ Casola named NOJHL’s best overall team player award winner



Release Date: Tuesday, March 26, 2013

Thunderbirds’ Casola named NOJHL’s best overall team player award winner

SUDBURY — The Northern Ontario Junior Hockey League announced Tuesday that Darcy Casola of the Soo Thunderbirds has been named the 2012-13 recipient of NOJHL’s best overall team player award.

The 20-year-old Sault Ste. Marie product led his hometown team in offensive production throughout the course of the regular season with 66 points after competing in all 48 games his club played and finishing up with 28 goals and 38 assists.

Casola’s efforts allowed him to also end up third in league scoring with his goal total tying him for third best overall.

His nine power play tallies knotted him for fourth best in the NOJHL and he also shared second spot in league shorthanded markers with three.

Casola’s offensive output marked a 46-point improvement from his efforts on last year’s Sault Ste. Marie squad that went on to capture both the NOJHL and Dudley-Hewitt Cup titles.

He becomes the fourth player from the Thunderbirds to capture the award in its 11-year history.

He joins Micky Sartoretto (2011-12), Jerry Petingalo (2009-10) and Kyle Jones (2004-05) as previous Soo skaters to garner the accolades.

All-time NOJHL best overall team player award recipients:

Darcy Casola                                 2012-13 Soo Thunderbirds

Micky Sartoretto                              2011-12 Soo Thunderbirds
Brett Campbell                                2010-11 Blind River Beavers
Jerry Petingalo                                2009-10 Soo Thunderbirds
Felix Boutin                                     2008-09 Abitibi Eskimos
Brandon Ingraham                          2007-08 Manitoulin Islanders
Anthony Libonati                             2006-07 Blind River Beavers
No Winner                                       2005-06 N/W
Mitch Champagne*                         2004-05 Abitibi Eskimos
Kyle Jones*                                    2004-05 Soo Thunderbirds
Thomas Laplante                           2003-04 Blind River Beavers
Patrick Keating   2002-03 Blind River Beavers
* Co-recipient  

List courtesy NOJHL Historian David Harrison

WordPress Image Lightbox Plugin